Blog

evidence laws Florida

Evidence Laws Change in Florida: What This Means if You’re the Injured Party

Evidence laws change rapidly in Florida. Recently, they’ve experienced yet another shift. Specifically, the state has stopped adhering to the “General acceptance” (Frye) standard of vetting scientific evidence and adopted the Daubert standard, instead. While this effort keeps frivolous cases out of court and streamlines the process for real, pressing cases. It can also make…

injuries that don't show up right away

What if I’m in an Accident and My Injuries Don’t Show Up Right Away?

After an accident, some injuries present immediately. Things like broken bones and concussions, for example, have severe symptoms. Sometimes, though, you can sustain an injury that doesn’t appear for days, weeks, or months after the accident. What then? Don’t worry. You have options. While you can still file an insurance claim, you have to move…

driving laws changing

New Texting While Driving Laws in Effect for Florida in 2020

It’s a new year, which means new laws throughout Florida. In addition to an increasing minimum wage (it’s going from $8.46 to $8.56 this year), Florida is also introducing a new batch of texting while driving laws. Here’s what you need to know. Texting While Driving Will now Result in Tickets Beginning in late December, Florida Highway Patrol troopers started ticketing drivers…